ROLE PLAYERS 2018 - Prof. Dr. M. Habibur Rahman

Prof. Dr. M. Habibur Rahman

Professor of Civil/Environmental Engineering, BUET, Dhaka and
Chairman, Dhaka Water Supply and Sewerage Authority Board

Professor M. Habibur Rahman graduated in Civil Engineering from BUET in 1982, Received M Sc. Eng. with specialisation in Environmental Engineering from BUET in 1984 and PhD in 1989 from the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK. He has about 35 years of experience in teaching, research, administration and consultancy services in BUET as well as one year as a Visiting Professor at Loughborough University, Leicestershire, UK.

He presently holds the position of Chairman of Dhaka Water Supply and Sewerage Authority (DWASA) Board and held the position of Pro-Vice Chancellor, BUET, Dhaka during 2009-2012. He is actively involved with research teams of different international universities in Australia, Canada, Germany, India, Japan, Switzerland, UK and USA.

He authored two text books "Water and Environmental Engineering" and "Solid and Hazardous Waste Management", and contributory author of more than 20 books (published from USA, UK, Japan, India and Bangladesh). He also published more than 160 papers in National and International Journal and Conference Proceedings.

. He contributed three (Water Supply, Sanitation and Fire Protection) chapters in Bangladesh National Building Code.

He worked as a Consultant to about 60 major Civil, Water Supply, Sanitation and Environmental Management projects of national importance including some UNCRD-Japan, World Bank, IDB, EC and WHO projects. He was elected as an International Board-member of IWSA, IWSA-ASCEN, APHW and AANESWM respectively. He was the Member of Trustee Board of Climate Change Trust Fund and Chairman of National Biogas Program.

He has been working as a Member of the Bangladesh Professional Engineers Registration Board and involved with the Board of Accreditation for Engineering & Technical Education (BAETE) of IEB.

He recently received University Grants Commission (UGC) Award for publishing a text book and Institution of Engineers (IEB) Award/Medal for the contribution in teaching, research and professional services.